What macOS’ Next Name Could Be, Based On Apple’s Trademark Filings

Composite image by DesignTAXI. Background image via Apple

With Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) event kicking off in just a month, fans might be amped up for the unveiling of its next macOS.

Back in 2014, Apple applied for 23 trademarks likely to be used in future macOS namings. Since then, three of them have been used: ‘Yosemite’ for OS X 10.10, ‘El Capitan’ for OS X 10.11, and ‘Sierra’ for macOS 10.12 and 10.13.

What might version 10.14 be called? There are currently 20 shortlisted titles: ‘Redwood’; ‘Mammoth’; ‘California; ‘Big Sur’; ‘Pacific’; ‘Diablo’; ‘Miramar’; ‘Rincon’; ‘Redtail’; ‘Condor’; ‘Grizzly’; ‘Farallon’; ‘Tiburon’; ‘Monterey’; ‘Skyline’; ‘Shasta’; ‘Mojave’; ‘Sequoia’; ‘Ventura’; ‘Sonoma’. It’s anyone’s guess which one will be picked next, and which will be stored away for later.

All the names allude to signature landmarks in California. ‘Sonoma’ and ‘Ventura’, for instance, are Californian cities, whereas ‘Mojave’ pays homage to Mojave Desert, the driest desert in North America.

As WWDC 2018 approaches, one of the biggest questions is what name Apple has decided for its next version of macOS. Apple has already trademarked names including Redwood, Mammoth, California, Big Sur, Pacific, Diablo, Miramar, Rincon, Redtail, Condor, Grizzly, Farallon, Tiburon, Monterey, Skyline, Shasta, Mojave, Sequoia, Ventura, and Sonoma. What names your favorite?

A post shared by Spectrum Report (@spectrumreport) on May 5, 2018 at 4:35pm PDT

[via MacRumors and Spectrum Report, cover image via Apple]

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.