Venues Can’t Turn Off Confirm Your Visits On Google Maps

The other week, I had a customer ask me if there is a way to stop from asking their customers or visitors to confirm their visits in Maps. As far as I know, there is no way to do that from the My Business venue end.

We’ve probably all seen it before, where Google Maps knows you went somewhere and asks you to confirm it using the Google Maps app. Here is one example:

Why would a venue want to disable this from showing up to their patrons? Well, maybe the place is an exclusive place that they don’t want people talking about? Maybe they don’t want the publicity yet? Maybe there is a form of modesty around the venue? There can be numerous reasons. But at the same time, when someone uses Google Maps to find the place because they are explicitly searching for it, they do want to come up.

I asked around and there is no way for a venue to say do not show the prompts to confirm such visits.

But one hack would be to trick the place by using one of those Google Beacons but that sounds dangerous to me:

Do you have any ideas?

Forum discussion at Twitter.

serverpoint hosting banner

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.